BP Awards Teachers for Energy Programs

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

BP Awards Teachers for Energy Programs

HOUSTON -- Five teachers from the Cypress-Fairbanks school district here were named the winning teachers for Texas in the 2009 A+ for Energy program, sponsored by BP, Examiner.com reported.

The program recognizes teachers for innovation and excellence in teaching energy conservation in the classroom, and BP awards up to $5 million annually in grants and scholarships to grade school teachers.

A $5,000 or $10,000 grant will be given for each educator's proposed energy-saving projects, along with an all-expenses paid, three-day Energy Training Conference and materials for the classroom valued at $500.

Winners included:

-- Bang Elementary School teacher Jeanetta Mieth, for her project “S.T.O.M.P. T.H.I.S.” (Start Treating Our Home Planet with the Respect it Deserves). The schoolwide project explores the benefits and importance of recycling.

-- Arnold Middle School teacher Mary Patterson, for her project "Our Potential is Growing." The project includes an event, "An Evening of Energy," led by student leaders who share what they have learned about energy.

-- Millsap Elementary School teacher Carmela Simmons, for her project "Mustangs Race Toward a Brighter Future." The project will use high school students as volunteer mentors to help first-grade students learn about the science of energy.

-- Reed Elementary School teacher Rhoda Goldberg, for her project "EmPOWERing Students." The project will create booths and present at a school-wide "Energy Fair."

-- Smith Middle School teacher Doreen Jarvis, for her project "Exploring Our Potential!" The project will provide a professional development workshop that allows additional knowledge and curriculum ideas about energy resources and conservation.

Related News:

BP's ampm Sweet on Dessert Promotion

BP: Oil Demand in U.S. Gas Market Peaked