ChevronTexaco Issues Conservation Awards

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

ChevronTexaco Issues Conservation Awards

HOUSTON -- Environmentalists seeking to save endangered wildlife, beautify urban areas and educate youth about the importance of environmental protection were honored Sept. 26 at the 48th Annual ChevronTexaco Conservation Awards.

At a special ceremony at the Houston Museum of Natural Science, one organization and seven individuals from five states were presented with awards, including Keep Houston Beautiful, which won for its model programs to prevent urban litter, reduce crime and rejuvenate neighborhoods. Winners included a Rhode Islander who works to save an endangered species of tree kangaroo half-way around the world, a Missourian's drive to bring nature to urbanites, and two Virginia radio talk show hosts whose unique program brings businesses and environmentalists together to find solutions to conservation challenges. Three winners were from the San Francisco Bay Area, including a pair of conservationists who have spent 40 years protecting San Francisco Bay and a naturalist who creates conservation programs for youths.

"At ChevronTexaco, we believe in the power of partnerships and that we all share the responsibility for protecting our environment. This year's ChevronTexaco Conservation Awards honorees provide stellar examples of what can be accomplished when people and organizations put these values into action. Their passion, ingenuity, and vision to conserve natural resources are examples for all of us to emulate," said Warner Williams, ChevronTexaco's vice president of health, environment and safety.

This year's ChevronTexaco Conservation Awards honorees were:
* Keep Houston Beautiful.
* Sylvia McLaughlin and Dwight Steele for Saving San Francisco Bay.
* Dr. Lisa Dabek for Saving the Endangered Tree Kangaroo.
* Carey Crane and Chandler Van Voorhis of GreenWave Radio.
* Anita Gorman, Missouri Conservation Commissioner.
* Joan Linn Bekins for Educating Youth About Conservation.

An independent panel of leading conservationists selected the winners. Each winner received $10,000, round-trip airfare for two to Houston and two nights' lodging. More than 1,000 volunteers, professionals and organizations have received this award since it was founded in 1954.