Coffee Cup Fuel Stops President Receives Hall of Fame Award

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — Coffee Cup Fuel Stops & Convenience Stores Inc. Co-Founder and President Tom Heinz was honored with the 2017 Hall of Fame Award presented by the NATSO Foundation.

NATSO President and CEO Lisa Mullings presented the award to Heinz during the keynote lunch at the NATSO Show in Savannah, Ga., Monday.

The Hall of Fame Award recognizes individuals for notable participation in their communities, the truckstop and travel plaza industry and in NATSO. The association’s members nominate candidates for the award, and its executive committee and past Hall of Fame recipients select the winner.

"Tom Heinz has demonstrated his desire to help others in our industry but also his service to community. He is a true example of a strategic, compassionate leader," said Don Quinn, president of Sapp Bros. Travel Centers and NATSO's 2017 Chairman of the Board.

Heinz serves on the board of directors and as chairman of both NATSO and the NATSO Foundation. He is active in the South Dakota Petroleum Association and serves on the board of The St. Christopher Fund, which supports professional drivers in need.

Coffee Cup’s first location opened in Steele, N.D., in 1981. Today, it operates nine locations in South Dakota, North Dakota and Wyoming.

"The Hall of Fame award is meant to recognize members who serve as a source of pride for the travel plaza and truckstop industry, and Tom most certainly does," said Mullings. "Our industry, NATSO’s members, and so many more have benefited from Tom’s generous wisdom and guidance. He truly embodies all that the Hall of Fame Award stands for and I am honored to present him with it."

Founded in 1960, Alexandria-based NATSO is the trade association of America’s travel plaza and truck stop industry.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds