Fish in Beer?

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Fish in Beer?

08/02/2006
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- New government rules have been proposed that will require beer, wine, spirits and other malt beverages to list common allergens included in their ingredients, The Associated Press reported.

Besides wheat, other ingredients present in alcoholic beverages that are not widely known by consumers, such as fish, shellfish, milk, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts and soybeans, along with proteins derived from those allergens, will have to be included in the labeling. Fish protein is one ingredient that would need to be printed on a label, as it is used to clarify wine or beer before bottling, the AP reported.

The U.S. Treasury Department will accept comments on the matter until Sept. 25 before deciding whether to make the labeling a requirement.