Hello Mr. President

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Hello Mr. President

WASHINGTON -- The United States Mint launches the new Presidential $1 Coin program today, which calls for the release of four $1 coin designs per year, beginning with George Washington.

Following Washington, past U.S. presidents that have passed away will be remembered on coins in the order in which they served. For 2007, other presidential coins will showcase John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and James Madison. The program will continue until 2016, which will see a $1 Richard Nixon coin. For each president, the coin will highlight their name, likeness, the dates served in office and their place in the order of U.S. presidents.

While the presidential coins differ from all other circulating coins as they do not feature the word "Liberty," the reverse side of the coin will include a rendition of the Statue of Liberty. The coins display large artwork and inscriptions on the coins' edge, including the year of minting/issuance "E Pluribus Unum," "In God We Trust" and the mint mark.

The size, weight and composition of the new Presidential $1 Coins will be identical to the Sacagawea Golden Dollar.

United States Mint research indicates about half of Americans are interested in collecting the coins, which they will receive from local retailers, including the convenience stores they shop.