Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu


BUFFALO, N.Y. -- Wilson Farms promoted Jim Pinkert to the role of perishable field specialist for the mid-state region. Pinkert joined the company in 1998 and climbed the ladder from cart boy to store manager of Wilson Farms’ East Main Street location in Rochester.

In his new position, Pinkert will be responsible for support of Perishables/Foodservice for the Mid-state region, which includes assisting in the development of new perishable programs as well as the refining of existing ones. In addition, he will also be an instrumental member of training and development of new associates in the area of perishable/foodservice in the Wilson Farms family.

In related news, NACS: The Association for Convenience and Petroleum Retailing named 10 winners of the 2008 NACS Yates Scholarship. Established in 1999 in memory of Jim Yates, founder of E-Z Mart Stores Inc. and 1992-1993 NACS chairman, the annual scholarship recognizes employees in the c-store industry for their dedication to achieving excellence in retailing, strong leadership skills at the store level and persistence in the pursuit of education.

Each scholarship winner will receive $3,000 for costs of career education (community college or a four-year college) and complimentary registration and travel to the NACS Show, which will take place Oct. 4 to 7, 2008, in Chicago, according to NACS. The scholarship winners will also be recognized at the NACS Leadership Alumni Reception on Sunday, Oct. 5.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Douglas Ansley (Murphy Oil USA Inc.)

  • Elizabeth Harn (The Parker Companies)

  • Vicki Harris (Grace Energy/Fastrip)

  • Eric Medina (Turkey Hill Mini Markets)

  • Justin Mitchell (Maverik Inc.)

  • Diane Soto (Texas Star Investments)

  • Pamela Stanford (Triangle Stop Food Stores)

  • Jose Vazquez (Town & Country Food Stores/Susser Holdings)

  • James Wisniewski (Wawa Inc.)

  • Darrel Youngblood (Susser Petroleum LLC)