Skip to main content

TravelCenters Honors Latest Class of Citizen Drivers

WESTLAKE, Ohio — TravelCenters of America LLC (TA), operator of the TA and Petro Stopping Centers travel center brands, announced the winners of its fourth annual Citizen Driver Awards during a luncheon ceremony at the 2017 Mid-America Trucking Show in Louisville, Ky.

The company launched the Citizen Driver program in 2013 to honor hardworking professional drivers who help bring respect to the truck driving profession and keep the economy going. Citizen Drivers have exemplary careers in trucking and demonstrate good citizenship and safety, TA stated.

The five Citizen Drivers honored have chosen their favorite TA or Petro Stopping Centers locations, which will be named after them. The 2017 Citizen Drivers are:

  • Marty Ellis — TA Rogers, Minn. — "Marty Ellis Rogers Travel Center"
  • Idella M. Hansen — Petro North Little Rock, Ark. —"Idella M. Hansen North Little Rock Stopping Center"
  • Evan (Buddy) Haston — Petro Amarillo, Texas — "Evan (Buddy) Haston Amarillo Stopping Center"
  • Dick Pingel — TA Madison, Wis. — "Dick Pingel Madison Travel Center"
  • Jim Wilcox — TA Albuquerque, N.M. — "Jim Wilcox Albuquerque Travel Center"

The new class of Citizen Drivers will also be recipients of individual banquets and unveiling ceremonies hosted by TA executives at their chosen locations.

With this group of honorees, there are now 24 TA or Petro Stopping Centers locations across the country named to honor professional truck drivers.

"We are extremely proud of all our honorees this year and want to identify the drivers that have gone above and beyond to become the best of the best in the trucking industry. These individuals truly set the example for how to be a leader within their career and community and we are honored to have them be part of our TA family," shared Tom O'Brien, president and CEO of TravelCenters.

TravelCenters accepted nominations for the 2017 Citizen Drivers throughout last year and received nominations from a wide variety of people who wanted to recognize the deserving drivers who had touched their lives, the company said. Distinguished members of the trucking industry judged the submitted nominations and selected the honorees who excelled in all categories.

The 2018 Citizen Driver nomination form, rules and other information will be posted to the TA and Petro Stopping Centers website in June 2017. Nominations will be accepted throughout 2017. The new honorees will be announced at the 2018 Drivers Award Ceremony at the TA branded Iowa 80 location in Walcott, Iowa.

Westlake-based TravelCenters of America LLC conducts business in more than 40 states and Canada, principally under the TA and Petro Stopping Centers travel center brands and the Minit Mart convenience store brand.

This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds