Citgo Cuts Stations Supply in 14 States

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Citgo Cuts Stations Supply in 14 States

HOUSTON -- Citgo Petroleum Corp. will stop supplying gasoline to more than 1,800 Citgo-branded stations and any other station that buys Citgo's product, throughout 10 states and select cities in four other states, reported the Wall Street Journal.

This results from the decision to cancel the purchase of gasoline from other refiners, and sell only the fuel that is produced from its three U.S. refineries, located in Lake Charles, La., Corpus Christi, Texas, and Lemont, Ill., which have a capacity of 750,000 barrels of crude oil per day, the report stated.

Outside gasoline purchases were "straining our resources and potentially compromising our ability to provide optimum service to our customers," CEO Felix Rodriguez said in a written statement.

Rodriguez added that customers would have until next March to find a new supplier.

According to the report, all Citgo stations in the following states will be affected: Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma and South Dakota. Select cities will be affected in: Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana and Texas.