Skip to main content

Mississippi Educator Recognized

JACKSON, Miss. -- Peggy Carlisle, a teacher here at Pecan Park Elementary School, has been named the 2002 recipient of the Shell Science Teaching Award. The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) will present the $10,000 award on March 29 at their convention in San Diego, Calif.

Carlisle competed against a nationwide group of nominees, representing science teachers from all grade levels and science disciplines.

Shell is a long-time sponsor of the award, which honors classroom teachers who significantly impact students through exemplary science teaching. "The recognition and support of classroom teachers through our partnership with NSTA is a key element in Shell's Talent Pipeline Process, which is about building for the future with a long-term focus on employment needs," said Shell spokeswoman Joy Cocchiara.

A panel of judges composed of NSTA members presided over the competition. Ten semifinalists were selected based on essays that outlined their teaching philosophy and instructional methods, as well as videotapes of their classroom teaching. Three teachers proceeded as finalists and were visited by a sub-committee of judges for onsite observation of their classroom techniques.

The two finalist were Sheryl Sotelo of Cooper Landing Elementary in Cooper Landing, Ala. and Richmond Edwards of The Summit School in Hot Springs, Ark. All finalists received an all-expense paid trip to the National Convention.
This ad will auto-close in 10 seconds