New Chairman Takes Seat on NATSO Board

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

New Chairman Takes Seat on NATSO Board


ALEXANDRIA, Va. -- NATSO, the national trade association representing the travel plaza and truck stop industry, named Tom Heinz as the 2013 chairman of its board of directors.

Heinz brings with him 37 years of experience in different segments of the petroleum industry, and has previously served on the NATSO board of directors and as the NATSO Foundation chairman of the board. He is the president of Heinz Inc., unrelated to food giant H.J. Heinz Co., as well as the co-founder and owner of Aberdeen, S.D.-based Coffee Cup Fuel Stops & Convenience Stores, which has been an active member of NATSO for more than 20 years.

Heinz succeeds Darrin Flitton as chairman. Flitton, fleet and truck stop manager of the Gold Truckstop network for Sinclair Oil, now serves as chairman of NATSO's steering council committee.

According to NATSO, Heinz takes the lead on the board at a time when the truck stop and travel plaza industry is facing issues concerning the future of highway funding and rising interchange fees.

"I look forward to tackling the challenges facing our industry in an effort to help all of my fellow business owners and operators to succeed," Heinz said. "This is an exciting time in the truck stop and travel plaza industry, and I'm thrilled to serve as NATSO's chairman."

The Alexandria, Va.- based association also elected the following members to its 2013 board: Chad Ingram, president, Garvin Oil Co. Inc., Wagener, S.C.; Don Quinn, president, Sapp Bros. Travel Centers Inc., Omaha, Neb.; Don Paddock, president, KSG Distributing Inc., Kaysville, Utah; and Robert Lake, senior vice president, acquisitions and business development, Randall-Reilly Publishing Co. LLC, Tuscaloosa, Ala.