Top Women in Convenience logo

Nominations Open for 2018 CSNews Top Women in Convenience Awards

TWIC 2017 Keynote Speaker Marcia Clark with Woman of the Year Marcia Clark with Karla Ahlert of RaceTrac and Alicia West and Blake Benefiel of founding and presenting sponsor Altria Distribution Company.

NEWARK, N.J. — Convenience Store News is now accepting nominations for its 2018 Top Women in Convenience (TWIC) awards, the industry's first and only awards program that recognizes women making outstanding contributions to their companies and the convenience retail industry overall.

The program encompasses four different categories honoring the full retail spectrum: 

  1. Women of the Year: Retailer (chain or independent), supplier or wholesaler executives of any rank who have had an exceptional impact on the success or direction of their company, as well as a positive impact on the convenience store industry as a whole. These visionaries have steered their companies into new markets, new opportunities and strong measurable growth.
  2. Senior-Level Leaders: Retailer (chain or independent), supplier and wholesaler executives with job titles of VP and above, who work with the c-store channel of trade and have executed on a strategy and transformed their business in a positive manner.
  3. Rising Stars: Retailers (chain or independent), suppliers and wholesalers with job titles from store managers to just below VP, who are making their mark in the c-store industry even at the early stages of their careers.
  4. Mentors: Retailers (chain or independent), suppliers and wholesalers of any rank who have made an extraordinary effort, and had an extraordinary impact, on the careers of their colleagues.

Top Women in Convenience nominees must either work for a convenience store retailer company or a wholesaler or supplier directly serving the convenience store industry. 

Nominations should be compiled from achievements during the previous 12 months and illustrate a candidate’s innovative corporate initiatives, extraordinary financial and strategic accomplishments, astute problem-solving acumen, exceptional performance and selfless charitable participation, among other attributes that go above and beyond the call of duty.

There is no entry fee or limit to the number of nominations one individual or company can submit. The deadline for nominations is April 30.

Judging will be conducted by CSNews in conjunction with the Network of Executive Women and the 2018 Top Women in Convenience Advisory Board. All winners will be notified by the end of May and prominently recognized on, in the August issue of Convenience Store News, and at an awards gala held in the fall.

CSNews and the TWIC Advisory Board reserve the right to award a nominee in a different category than the one they were nominated for.

Click here for more details and to submit a nomination. 

In 2017, the Top Women in Convenience awards program honored 50 female c-store industry professionals. Those celebrated as Women of the Year were Karla Ahlert, vice president of finance and treasurer, RaceTrac Petroleum Inc.; Elisa Goria, global head of cold dispensed beverages, Circle K Stores Inc.; Ruth Ann Lilly, senior category manager, tobacco, beer, wine and spirits, GPM Investments LLC; Alicia Logan, district sales manager, Chevron ExtraMile; and Lesley Saitta, CEO, Impact 21.