People News

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

People News

CORPUS CHRISTI, Texas-- Stripes Holdings LLC announced that its members have elected Jerry E. Thompson as a director of the company. As an independent director, Thompson will chair its governance and nominating committee and will also serve on the audit and compensation committees.

Stripes Holdings LLC, through its subsidiaries, SSP Partners and Susser Petroleum Company, is an independent convenience store operator and non-refining motor fuel distributor in Texas. The company currently operates 318 retail convenience stores in Texas and Oklahoma, and distributes motor fuel to approximately 345 branded dealer units and 25 unattended units through its wholesale fuel division.

Thompson currently is the president and CEO of the general partner of TEPPCO Partners LP. Prior to joining TEPPCO, Thompson served a 35-year career with CITGO Petroleum Corporation. At the time of his retirement from CITGO in March 2006, Thompson had served as COO of CITGO since 2003. During his career with CITGO, Thompson advanced from a process engineer to positions of increasing responsibilities in the operations, supply and logistics, business development, planning and financial aspects of CITGO, including his election as vice president of refining in 1987 and as a senior vice president in 1998.

"It is my pleasure to announce the election of Jerry Thompson as director of Stripes Holdings LLC," said Sam L. Susser, president and CEO. "Jerry is a well-respected leader in the refined products industry and brings a wealth of experience and judgment to Stripes. We believe his accomplishments and relationships in the motor fuels and logistics businesses will benefit Stripes as we pursue and execute our plans to grow."

In other People News , Barb Hartman, vice president of customer business development-national customers, North America of Procter & Gamble, received the “Robert B. Begley Award” and Morry Weiss, chairman of American Greetings, received the “Sheldon W. Fantle Lifetime Achievement Award” at the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) annual event.

“We are proud to honor these two individuals for their dedication and continued hard work,” said Bob Hannan, interim president of NACDS. “It is through leaders like Hartman and Morry that chain pharmacy is able to stay committed to serving our communities.”

The Begley Award was created in 1980 in memory of the former NACDS chairman of the board, Robert Begley. The award honors individuals who possess qualities of great personal warmth, generous spirit and long-time service to the industry.

“Barb is a highly respected and successful leader who has moved her way up in the industry over the past 30 plus years,” said Alan Levin, chairman, president and CEO of Happy Harry’s Inc. “In all areas of her profession, she has formed valuable partnerships and relationships. Her dedication also shines through in her personal life as she serves on several charitable and volunteer efforts.”

The Sheldon W. Fantle Lifetime Achievement Award was established in 1989 to recognize exceptional accomplishments and contributions to our industry and was renamed in 1996, in honor of the late Bud Fantle.

“Over the past 45 years, Weiss has dedicated his professional life to our industry,” Levin said. “Throughout his career, he has been a dynamic force and has launched several ambitious and highly successful initiatives. Even after his ‘retirement’ our honoree has continued to serve the industry with unending passion and dedication.”