Retailers Catch Break in Ohio

Press enter to search
Close search
Open Menu

Retailers Catch Break in Ohio

05/31/2001
Montgomery County minors who are cited by police for smoking cigarettes will have the opportunity to avoid a court hearing by paying a $100 fine, according to the Dayton Daily News.

Montgomery County Juvenile Court officials said the court will actively enforce a state law, which went into effect March 15, that forbids anyone younger than 18 from buying, using or possessing cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing tobacco, snuff or rolling papers. Those caught violating the measure face fines, community service and other civil penalties, the report said.

Minors who violate the law will also be required to attend five, 90-minute smoking-cessation classes, said Charlene Luciani, supervisor of the program. Homework will be assigned between sessions and class participation will be expected.

Minors who fail to pay the fine face 20 hours of community service, having their driver's licenses suspended or being blocked from applying for a driver's license, the report said.